Posted February 16, 2014 by Devon Watkis in Sports

David Stern to headline Basketball Hall of Fame.

Former Commissioner David Stern has been chosen to be apart of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Stern recently retired after 30 years of being commissioner, the longest tenured commissioner in the NBA. Stern was known for taking a NBA that was on the verge of bankruptcy and making it the multi-billion dollar industry that it is today.

Stern is the first to be announced in the class of 2014, some other finalist are Alonzo Mourning, Tim Hardaway, Mitch Richmond, Kevin Johnson and Spencer Haywood.

The rest of the inductees will be named on April 7th during the NCAA Final Four