Posted December 9, 2013 by Luis Mercado in Sports

Joe Torre, Tony La Russa & Bobby Cox Elected To Hall Of Fame [Video]

Three legendary managers were elected into the Hall of Fame today, as part of a special election by the expansion era committee.

Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre all managed strong and historical teams throughout the years of their careers.

Tony La Russa managed for three teams; the Chicago White Sox, Oakland Athletics, and St. Louis Cardinals over a 33 years span. He won the World Series in 1989, 2006 and 2011.  He also won the AL Manager of the year three times (1983, 1988, 1992), and NL Manager of the year in 2002. His record is 2728-2365.

Bobby Cox managed 29 years for two teams; the Atlanta Braves and Toronto Blue Jays. During his career he was a big part of an Atlanta Braves dynasty that also included future hall of fame pitchers Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, and John Smoltz. He has won the manager of the year award four times (1985, 1991, 2004, and 2005). He also won the World Series in 1995, and has won the NL pennant four times. Over his managerial career his record is 2504-2001.

Joe Torre began his managerial career as a player/manager for the New York Mets in 1977. He had a turbulent beginning of his career after unsuccessful stints with the Mets, Atlanta Braves, and St. Louis Cardinals. He became a broadcaster for the California Angels in 1985 through the 1990 season. He then came into New York as “Clueless Joe,” and created a Yankees dynasty by winning four world series championships in five years. He won two manager of the year awards (1996 & 1998), and carries a record of 2326-1997 over his career.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held July 27 in Cooperstown, New York.