Posted March 8, 2013 by DJ Enuff in Sports

Big East Break Up Official!

Big East break up

The Catholic 7 schools — DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John’s and Villanova — will form a 10-team league by adding Butler, Xavier and likely Creighton, sources told ESPN.

The group also is expected to announce a multi-year media rights deal with Fox Sports, worth at least $3 million per school annually, sources told ESPN. – espn

The Big East will officially break off the Catholic 7 schools, a group of basketball-only institutions, on June 30! Prominent schools including: Georgetown, St. John’s, Marquette, Seton Hall, Providence, DePaul, and Villanova will break off into the Catholic 7! The Catholic 7 will add Butler, Xavier, and most likely Creighton to form a 10-team league! Foxsports just upgraded to a 24-hour live network FOX Sports 1, and now will control the media rights to the group; collecting $3 Million per school annually! Notre Dame is expected to shift to the ACC, and Louisville and NJ Rutgers will have to wait a year to exit to the Big Ten or the ACC! Whatever is left of the Big East or switched will most likely be changed to “America 12 Conference” when all is said and done!