Posted December 10, 2012 by DJ Enuff in Sports

Texas A&M Freshman Wins Heisman Trophy!

“I have been dreaming about this since I was a kid, running around the backyard pretending I was Doug Flutie, throwing Hail Marys to my dad,” Manziel said after hugging his parents and kid sister. espn

Texas A&M (Aggie) QB Johnny Manziel became the first freshman ever to win the Heisman Trophy award on Saturday night! He beat out Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o in a solid second and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein in a distant third in the voting (chart below)! Manziel pulled 474 first-place votes and 2,029 points from the panel of media members and former winners.

Manziel threw up ridiculous numbers as a freshman: 3,419 passing yards for 24 touchdowns, and 1,181 rushing yards for 19 more touchdowns! Manziel became the first freshman, first SEC player, and fifth player ever to throw for 3,000 yards and run for 1,000 yards in a season.

The Heisman Trophy was initially established to award seniors (and juniors) on their way to the pros, but through the years has been slowly changing. Jets backup QB Tim Tebow set a benchmark in 2007 by becoming the first sophomore to win the award, and Viking RB Adrian Peterson almost won the award as a freshman in 2004. Manziel still has one more game this season, his Aggies (No. 9 BCS, No. 10 AP) will take on Oklahoma in the AT&T Cotton Bowl on Jan. 4!

Johnny Heisman

Player 1st 2nd 3rd Total
J. Manziel, Texas A&M 474 252 103 2,029
Manti Te’o, Notre Dame 321 309 125 1,706
Collin Klein, Kansas St. 60 197 320 894
Marquise Lee, USC 19 33 84 207
B. Miller, Ohio State 3 29 77 144
J. Clowney, S. Carolina 4 13 23 61
J. Lynch, N. Illinois 3 8 27 52
T. Austin, W. Virginia 6 4 21 47
K. Barner, Oregon 1 12 15 42
J. Jones, Georgia 1 10 18 41

(chart courtesy espn)