Posted November 2, 2011 by DJ Enuff in Sports

MLB Gold Glove winners announced…

@SportsBata ..nuff said

The Gold Glove is an award given for prolific play in the field at your position for the entire season. Tuesday, Rawling and MLB announced the the award winners. Shockingly, NY Yankees LF Brett Gardner did not win the award? Yankees 2B Robinson Cano and Yankees 1B Mark Teixeira were overlooked on the ballet as well. Where is the love for the NY Yankees? Three players from the Boston Red Sox won, and three players from the LA Dodgers won the award this year. Seattle Mariners OF Ichiro Suzuki did not win, and his streak stopped at 10 in a row (tieing Ken Griffey Jr. and Al Kaline). This year, outfielders were voted for their specific positions (LF, CF, RF). Managers and coaches vote for players in their leagues and can’t pick players on their own teams. – espn

2011 Gold Glove Awards

American League

P — Mark Buehrle, CHW
C — Matt Wieters, BAL
1B — Adrian Gonzalez, BOS
2B — Dustin Pedroia, BOS
SS — Erick Aybar, LAA
3B — Adrian Beltre, TEX
LF — Alex Gordon, KC
CF — Jacoby Ellsbury, BOS
RF — Nick Markakis, BAL

National League

P — Clayton Kershaw, LAD
C — Yadier Molina, STL
1B — Joey Votto, CIN
2B — Brandon Phillips, CIN
SS — Troy Tulowitzki, COL
3B — Placido Polanco, PHI
LF — Gerardo Parra, ARI
CF — Matt Kemp, LAD
RF — Andre Ethier, LAD

(chart courtesy espn)